There were 26 posts found.

Showing page 1 of 7

News

  • 11/04/18

    The good people at Folk Radio have premiered our new video. This has James Robertson reading the story which inspired the tune from 3rd April.

    Aidan O'Rourke and Kit Downes with James Robertson

    We'll be performing this and many others on tour from this weekend. Full tour dates and info here.


  • 06/10/17

    April 2018
    Friday 13th April – Woodend Barn, Banchory
    Saturday 14th April - The Pleasance Theatre, Edinburgh
    Sunday 15th April - Drygate Brewery, Glasgow
    Wednesday 18th April –Tolbooth, Stirling
    Friday 20th April - Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury
    Saturday 21st April - Junction 2, Cambridge
    Monday 23rd April - Nettlebed Folk Club
    Tuesday 24th April - Heath Street Baptist Church, London
    Friday 27th April - Ashcroft Arts Centre, Fareham
    Saturday 28th April - Otley Courthouse, Otley
    Sunday 29th April - Irish Centre – Manchester

    NEW STUDIO ALBUM OUT MARCH 2018 ON REVEALRECORDS.CO.UK


  • 05/10/17

    I'm off on tour with Dónal Lunny's Atlantic Arc Orchestra next week.

    Included in the great band are:

    Dónal Lunny - Bouzouki (& Musical Director)
    Pauline Scanlon - Vocals
    Pádraig Rynne - Concertina
    Jarlath Henderson - Uilleann Pipes, Whistles, Guitar, Vocals
    Sylvain Barou Uilleann Pipes - Flutes
    Ewen Vernal - Bass
    John Blease - Drums

    And me on fiddle.

    Full details of gigs here.

    A wee article on us here.

    Friday 13th October - Roe Valley Arts Centre, Derry
    Saturday 14th October - Dingle Folkfest
    Sunday 15th October - St. Lukes, Cork
    Monday 16th October - Belfast International Arts Festival / Grand Opera House, Belfast
    Tuesday 17th October - Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick

    Atlantic Arc Orchestra at Celtic Connections

  • 11/07/16

    Last week I submitted my first choral piece to Cappella Nova. Entitled Magnus, it takes inspiration from the The St Magnus Hymn, or Nobilis Humbles which celebrates St Magnus of Orkney.

    Rather than using the original Latin text or the English translation I decided to research the possibility of writing it in Norn. This didn't prove as trouble-free as hoped: due to it being extinct. I was told that Faroese is possibly quite similar to what Norn sounded like so I contacted my good friend Sunnuva Bæk in the Faroe Islands and she kindly sent me a recording of the translation.

    Now I know why there are so many non-lexical vocables in Gaelic song. Horo! And now I've dug deep into the IPA; (different IPA to normal).

    But, it's complete and will be part of the Echoes and Traces project and will be performed at:

    Wed 31 Aug - Dunfermline Abbey (Nave),19.30
    Thu 1 Sep - Stirling Castle, 20.00
    Fri 2 Sep - Glasgow Cathedral, 19.30
    Sun 4 Sep - Duff House, Aberdeenshire, 13.00
    Mon 5th Sep - St Magnus Cathedral, Kirkwall, Orkney 20.00
    Wed 7 Sep - Iona Abbey, 15.00
    Thurs 8th Sep - Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh, 19.30

    Full details here:
    Echoes and Traces Tour